Truly – From South to your Mouth

The beauty of South Indian Cuisine is its variety and the use of well roasted and grounded spices. I have a spicy and a flavorsome tale to tell on my recent visit to The Orchid, a 5 Star Ecotel Certified Hotel is located in Mumbai. The 84 awards reiterate its efforts of being a pioneer amongst environment friendly hotels. facebook.com/pages/The-Orch…
The South of Vindhyas is the famous restaurant that serves up south Indian cuisine from the States of Kerela, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Andra
Pradesh.And whom better to take along but the Foodie Mr Aspi Irani.

gPX1VS4bYoH8WYZ9ksRQyLNV4zddloByVc90iPbq1nM=w854-h556-no

The Buffet sit down meals priced at

Rs. 1100 +TAX for Veg – Lunch & Dinner (Mon-Sun)
Rs. 1300 +TAX Non for Veg – Lunch & Dinner (Mon-Sun)
Rs. 1500 +TAX for Seafood – Lunch & Dinner (Mon-Sun)
You can also avail of the A La Carte Menu at the restaurant.
DSC_0407
Pleasantly greeted by the restaurant Manager and a big smile by the other staff, we were guided to out table. The huge lit Diya and spice boat at the entrance prepared me for the Gastronomical and cultural feel  I was going to experience that day.
The interiors were  bright and colourful, the lighting and music was perfect to go with the ambiance. I noticed the pretty windows and thatched roofs to go with the Southern restaurant theme.
DSC_0406
DSC_0399
At first we were served up hot chicken Broth in a majestic bowl fit for a Kings dinner table. It was peppery and worked like magic for my runny nose.
DSC_0401
For starters they served us the Spiced Pepper chicken, It was outstanding and very  tender and served in a well polished silverware dish lined with a Banana leaf.The dishes were prompty cleared and ” Behold ” It was thali time now.
DSC_0403
I sipped  on my buttermilk before I tucked in my royal non veg thali. It had a chicken , meat and a fish preparation with a whole load of other south Indian dishes includind Payasam , curd , curd rice , and mixed stew. Freshly prepared appams were served up while we ate with our hands and licked our fingers. A special mention here to the ” Podi Mamsum” – succulent mutton spiced with Nellore spices, that  was my favourite dish on the thali. Masala rice, plain rice and an assortment of Dals followed.
DSC_0411
DSC_0409
We were also visited by Chef Bala to ask us if everything served up was to our liking. I must mention Chef Bala specially makes some very exciting pickles and chutneys that accompany this delicious dishes to add that special zing. I would love to attend a workshop by Chef Bala with all my Foodblogger friends at facebook.com/foodbloggersin… to learn and promote these pickled wonders in glass Jars ( just a suggestion team )
DSC_0408
Later when I was asked if I liked to have  a choice of extra dessert I simply could not resist the Ras Malai I had been craving for quite a while. It was huge, creamy and I did not feel guilty about having it all by myself.
At night this place offers light Live karnatak music by musicians.
DSC_0400
Quite a sumptuous dinner this one, and I would long to go back and try the seafood Thali that promises squid, prawns and more variety of gravy’s and fries.
I would recommend this place for people who love nice ambience with good taste of south Indian food. Overall a wonderful authentic feel of South India and truly like the SOV claims ” from South to your Mouth”
DSC_0413