Winter Goodness – Recipe for Bajra ka Laddoo

Ring!! Ring!!
Thats the school bell.
Its 10.30 Am, time for a mid-morning snack for everyone. I am quite hungry by now and quickly take out my tiffin box just like the kids of my class.  I had carried a brown bread chutney sandwich that day as I try to eat healthy. My co teacher Ms Shabana showed me something very interesting she had brought in her box that day. Her aunty had prepared this special winter dish that  looked like a laddu but not a sweet one. It was a lasan and bajra atta laddoo. I had a small bite to taste and I must say that my tastebuds popped with pleasure. Hence SweetAnnu decided to research this recipe and do a blogpost after making it the very next day. 🙂

Lasan(Garlic) & Bajra( Millet)  Laddoo

This is a very old recipe from Gujarat. It is a very rustic and simple dish that is generally made during winter – when it is cold, because all ingredients are ‘hot’ for the body. The main two ingredients are green garlic which is fresh tasting, much milder than mature garlic.  Bajra is also had in winters. This combination was simply superb. These laddoos are generally eaten with curd and baingan bharta (eggplant)

 

bajra 1

bajra 5

Ingredients
1. 3-4 chappatis  – made from 3 cups of millet flour and water.
2.1 cup finely chopped green garlic.
3. 2- 3 tablespoons ghee. I used GITS Pure Ghee.
( the diet conscious can use olive oil)
4. Salt to taste.

bajra roti

Method
1. Break the chappatis  and grind into fine crumbs in a mixer.
2. Heat the ghee in a large pan, fry the garlic for a few seconds only,
do not overcook it.
3. Add the ground mixture and mix with the ghee and lasan.
4. Add half cup water and cook till its looks like dough.
5. Remove from heat, let it cool , and shape into meduim size balls.
6. Serve hot with curd, raita or aubergine bhurta.

I think this can be easily stored in an airtight container for few days. Need to heat on eating. An easy recipe for winters, 100% you will love making and relishing this dish.  Thank you Shabana for sharing the recipe with me. 🙂 🙂

 

 

